Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews

review_page

Reviews

We’ve visited Asheville the past two years for our anniversary. Chiesa is now part of that tradition. Homemade pasta and sauce is outstanding, servers always have great wine recommendations. Best italian meal I’ve had in years! We’ll be back.~OpenTable guest, 7/5/18

 

Best Homemade Pasta in Asheville! Chiesa is our go to local restaurant for delicious homemade pasta…and other fabulous entrees…that make you feel like you stepped back in time into your Nonni’s kitchen. Of course, there are other delights on the menu including PEI Mussels prepared two ways…creative salads, seafood, steak and outrageous desserts. Owner Newton Clark overseas the kitchen and dining room with a maestro’s attention to detail and takes a personal interest, stopping by your table to be sure everything is wonderful. Definitely the a foodie’s find! ~OpenTable guest, 4/13/18

This was an amazing, delicious, quaint restaurant tucked away in beautiful Asheville. The owner was a wonderful man who took time with his patrons to make sure everything was just right! We will return!~Yelp guest, 4/13/18

This Italian restaurant was recommended and did not disappoint. Hannah was our server and she was EXCELLENT — so helpful and responsive. The arugula/red pepper salad was amazing…as were the meatballs. My husband had the homemade pasta with sausage/gravy. Had a bit of a kick, but really tasty as well. Highly recommend it!~TripAdvisor guest, 4/12/18

 Thoroughly enjoyed everything about Chiesa! The homemade pasta was delicious, and the service was fantastic. Extremely friendly and welcoming staff. Highly recommend.~OpenTable guest, 4/10/18

Chiesa is so charming! Not a large restaurant, but so friendly and pleasant! It’s an old church, hence it’s name! Food was amazing! The scallop dish the evening I was there was one of the best I’ve ever had ~ creative and perfect! They served a red sangria like no other ~ would love the recipe! Be sure to make a reservation!~OpenTable guest, 4/5/18

Just in from Washington DC, and gave this place a try. So glad we did! Service was FANTASTIC! Food was even better! Homemade pasta was scrumptious. The locally sourced Sweet Italian sausage was divine! I am not a “too much sauce” kinda guy, but I made a rare exception here, and actually requested more, because it was the best “tomato gravy” ever! The desserts were equally as great as the entree! Do yourself a favor, and make this local find a “must try”!~TripAdvisor guest, 4/1/18

I’m a New Yorker and REALLY fussy about Italian food. After so many disappointments with “Italian” cuisine in Asheville, Chiesa was a welcome surprise. Great ambiance. Bright, balanced sauces and fresh pasta. The shrimp scampi was divine-I wanted to lick the bowl! A well curated wine list. Attentive, but not invasive service, and affordable to boot. This is one of the most satisfying dining experiences I’ve had in the decade or so I’ve been living in Asheville. Go. Enjoy. Chiesa is one of Asheville’s best kept secrets…but it won’t be for long. ~Kate O.

Fine, relaxed and delicious Italian dining. The staff is super friendly, the owners take a lot of pride in their restaurant and it shows in the food. One other great thing about this place is that the menu changes each day meaning you get the best high quality ingredients opposed to frozen/processed and prepared meals, which are often offered at chain restaurants. But…if you want to know what’s being served that day, the menu is available on their website. We will definitely be returning in the near future. What a gem of a restaurant hidden away in the beautiful Montford area. – Lisa R.

Chiesa offers a welcoming atmosphere where you are sure to be greeted by one of the owners who genuinely wants to offer a delicious non-fussy evening out. Nestled within the historic neighborhood of Montford, the structure is a 100 year old building that was formerly a grocery store, then a church (which boasts original pews as part of the décor). While the menu selections are not vast…what they do, they do well. My go-to dish is the Hickory Nut Gap Farm beef gravy (red sauce) over house made fettuccine. Additionally, when the Maryland crab soup is on the menu, get it. The prices are reasonable, generally $15 – $18 for an entrée, and it is nice to note you do not feel pressure or snobbery to get an expensive bottle of wine. The staff takes the right balance of being attentive, yet not disruptive to conversations around the table. – Elizabeth A.

 

 

Press

 

Asheville Citizen-Times Citizen-Times – May 2015
Dining review: Chiesa in Montford
Mountain Xpress Jan 2015 The Mountain Xpress – January 2015
The other church supper: Chiesa brings family-style Italian meals to Montford

Location & Hours

Chiesa
152 Montford Avenue
Asheville, North Carolina 28801
(828) 552-3110 (Directions)

Open Daily for dinner 5pm – 9pm

Reservations

Click here to make a reservation.

For same day reservations made after 5pm, please call us at
(828) 552-3110.